The Gujarat University derives its power and privileges from the Gujarat University Act 1949, of the State Legislative.

The court (Senate) is the chief authority of the University. Subject to the provisions of the Act, the court makes statutes setting forth in details the broad provisions of the Act, e.g., the composition of the statutory bodies, definition of their powers, mode of election etc.

The Executive Council is the executive authority of the University and deals with matters such as prescribing conditions governing the various activities of the University.

The Academic Council is in-charge of the academic affairs of the University and is responsible for the maintenance and standards of instructions, education and examinations subject to the provisions of the Act and statutes made under the Act.

The authorities of the University are:

  • The Court
  • The Executive Council
  • The Academic Council
  • The faculties
  • The Board of University Teaching and Research
  • The Board of Studies
  • The Board of Extra-Mural Studies
  • The Board of Student Welfare
  • The Board for Hostel's Management
  • The Academic Planning Board

The University officers are:

  • The Chancellor
  • The Vice-Chancellor
  • The Ex-Vice Chancellors of the University residing in the State
  • The Pro-Vice Chancellor
  • The Registrar
  • The University Librarian
  • Director of Schools
  • Heads of the Departments

The Vice-Chancellor heads the University. The working of the University is purely democratic as all the faculties as well as students are duly represented. Moreover, elections to the Senate are held every year. The principals of the colleges look after the college administration. Teachers of the colleges, departments and schools do not form a formal administrative structure but they are represented in the power bodies of the Universities such as Academic and Executive Council. The Registrar is the administrating head of the university. All the officers report to him. The details regarding the sections of the University administration are given in Appendix -20. The teaching, non-teaching staff have the right to represent their grievances and complaints through their unions. There are unions for teaching and non-teaching staff. There are four unions representing non-teaching staff of the university. The University also recognizes the association of Principal's and non-teaching staff of affiliated colleges. Thus the University plays the role of a regulator and acts as a bridge among the stakeholders of education.